Salt Mining in Danakil, Afar

20th International Conference of Ethiopian Studies (ICES20)
Mekelle University, Ethiopia

"Regional and Global Ethiopia - Interconnections and Identities"
1-5 October, 2018

ICES20 logo

Organising Committee

Mekelle University (MU) has established the Main Organising Committee. This committee is assisted by the MU Conference Board, consisting of the representatives of the higher management of MU and the deans and directors of directorates, colleges and institutes with a stake in the disciplines involved. Specialised Committees are responsible for the specific organisational aspects of the Conference, from infrastructure to abstract selection. This is assisted by an advisory board, formed by MU, in close cooperation with the Institute of Ethiopian Studies (IES), Addis Abeba, and the International Organising Committee responsible for the ICES (IOC).

Main Organising Committee

Name Organization Role
Mr. MITIKU Gabrehiwot Asst. Prof., Dept. of Anthropology, Institute of Paleo-Environment and Heritage Conservaiton Chairperson
Dr. Wolbert G. C. SMIDT Assoc. Prof., Dept. of History and Heritage Management, College of Social Sciences and Languages Secretary
Dr. KELEMEWORK Tafere Assoc. Prof., Dept. of Sociology, College of Social Sciences and Languages Member
Dr. TESFAALEM Gebreyohannes Asst. Prof., Dept. of Geography, College of Social Sciences and Languages Member
Mr. YARED Berhe Asst. Prof., School of Law, College of Law and Governance Member
Mr. YEMANE Zeray Asst. Prof., Dept. of Political Science, College of Law and Governance Member
Ms. Yoko FURUSAKI Lecturer, Dept. of Foreign Languages and Literature, College of Social Sciences and Languages Member

International Organising Committee

Name Represented Country Affiliation
Dr. AHMED Hassen Omer Ethiopia Director of the Institute of Ethiopian Studies (IES), Addis Ababa University (Addis Abeba)
Prof. BAYE Yimam Ethiopia Department of Linguistics, Addis Ababa University (Addis Abeba)
Prof. SHIFERAW Bekele Ethiopia Department of History, Addis Ababa University; Ethiopian Academy of Science (Addis Abeba)
Mr. MITIKU Gabrehiwot Ethiopia Department of Anthropology, Mekelle University (Mekelle)
Dr. Lovise AALEN Norway Chr. Michelsen Institute (Bergen)
Prof. Jon ABBINK Netherlands African Studies Centre (Leiden)
Dr. ANBESSA Teferra Israel Tel Aviv University (Tel Aviv)
Prof. Galina BALASHOVA Russia Russian Academy of Science (Moscow)
Prof. Gunilla BJEREN Sweden Stockholm University (Stockholm)
Dr. Eloi FICQUET France Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (Paris)
Prof. Gianfrancesco LUSINI Italy Dipartimento di Studi e Ricerche su Africa e Paesi Arabi, Universita degli Studi di Napoli "L'Orientale" (Naples)
Prof. Terrence LYONS United States of America George Mason University (Fairfax)
Dr. Hanna RUBINKOWSKA Poland University of Warsaw (Warsaw)
Prof. Masayoshi SHIGETA Japan Centre for African Area Studies, Kyoto University (Kyoto)
Dr. Sarah VAUGHAN United Kingdom School of Social and Political Science, University of Edinburgh (Edinburgh)
Prof. Stefan WENINGER Germany Center for Near and Middle Eastern Studies, Philipps-Universitaet (Marburg)

Mekelle University Conference Board